A Soft Place to Land

Ardi_KhmraSM
Spent the last couple of days with the tiny tots and kids from the rescue center who have no parents or who have been abandoned by their parents or whose families are too violent or dangerous for them to visit over the New Year holiday.

As CCF does all it can to make sure kids spend holidays with their families there are only a few dozen who stay behind.

I’ve been with the little ones the last couple of days. 2 – 4 year olds a little flock of love. We have been playing, coloring, watching animated movies and taking long afternoon naps together.

It’s adorable because after lunch without prompting or encouragement they all seem to fall into a somnolent state. Like the characters in The Wizard of Oz they just drop to the ground turn over on their tummies or curl to the side or find a pillow to hug or another child to spoon with.

Or lucky me – they find me. Laying on the floor I watch a couple of hours of straight to video animated movies while one tiny little guy lays across my chest napping his quiet breath moving in and out with my own and two or three others curl up under my arms before going off to nod land

I remember the George Bernard Shaw quote “I want to be thoroughly used up” and blissfully think to myself that being used as a soft place to land for these precious little ones is an ideal new career for me.

Photo Courtesy of Scott Neesom

Leave a Reply

